Home made Egg sandwich recipe
Quick bites

Sloppy Grilled Egg Sandwich

Hello World and especially my followers.

I know I have been away for quite some time. Well, I have had a bit of health issue (that being chronic tonsillitis) that has kept me away and now that I’m feeling considerably well, I decided to finally write.

Well, I am here with a food post for my Quick bite series. This is an invention which I have literally stumbled upon out of sheer laziness and mostly getting by with what I had.

Finishing up on the sandwich griller.
Finishing up on the sandwich griller.

I had initially made a chess omelette with Italian seasoning for my little one school lunch box which returned un-eaten.  Making use of that and a few other ingredients, I actual surprised myself for coming up with a really good tasting sandwich for lunch.

And ahem surprise of surprises, the little one loved it too, and had that as well. Go figure.

So let’s start off, to make this sloppy egg sandwich you are going to need the following:

  1. 2 Eggs
  2. 1/4 cup of Grated Cheddar cheese
  3. 1/4 of tsp Italian seasoning
  4. 2 tbsp oil of your choice
  5. Bread slices (my preference is Brown)
  6. 1 Medium sliced onions
  7. English mustard or Dijion if you prefer
  8. Fresh Corrainder leaves with a little bit of the stalks (read on and you will know why)
  9. Salt & Pepper for seasoning
  10. Butter
  11. A sandwich griller

Now this sandwich has quick 2 step process. First you need to make your omelette for which beat the eggs with the cheese, Italian seasoning along with a little salt and pepper as per taste.

Whisk them all together and cook it up in the Oil of your choice. I use Rice bran oil for the purpose and set aside the omelette by cutting it into 4/6 pieces.

The layer of onions, egg, onion and Corrainder
The layer of onions, egg, onion and Corrainder

Next comes the assembly of the sandwich for grilling. I usually have a portable sandwich grilled, so I assemble it on that itself. Take one slice of Bread, and spread a decent amount of butter along with a generous amount of mustard as per your liking.

Then add in the sliced onions and try to heap them as much as you can. On top layer out the omelette, and next again add onions, a little salt and pepper for taste and finally add the fresh Corrainder.

Now I used Corrainder, as I wanted a bit of freshness in my sandwich, and Fresh Corrainder from the farmers market was all that I had in my fridge. You can use as much or as a little as you want but they really add a good flavour base and crunch to the sandwich.

Now close of the sandwich with another slice of bread layered with butter and mustard. Yes you want mustard on the top layer as well.

The Corrainder was the perfect crunch and flavour
The Corrainder was the perfect crunch and flavour

Close off the griller, and go ahead and grill it at a medium flame or a medium to low setting in an electric griller, till the outside of the sandwich turns Golden Brown.

A medium flame ensures that you don’t burn your sandwich and most importantly that all the fillings in the sandwich just merge and release their flavour base to create one gastronomical finale.

Quick, simple and one delicious sloppy grilled egg sandwich is ready for your lunch or a quick snack.

Enjoy
Enjoy

Cheers

Namrata

3 thoughts on “Sloppy Grilled Egg Sandwich”

Leave a Reply

