Beginner Makeup kit
Ideas & Reflections, Makeup kits

A few of my favourite things

One fine day my sister popped up on my whatsapp message asking me advice from primer to lipshade for an upcoming event. She basically was running out of her makeup and not being someone like me who keeps an eye out of what is new, what works and so on, she approached me to help.

Now advising her on whatsapp, I ended up with a list which I have adapted from the conversation to compile out in this post cause it just made me happy to talk about and advise her on makeup. I’ll try and keep it short, and advise only on products which are easily available in the Indian market.

So let’s start:

Primer: This makes your makeup lasts longer and is the first thing that should be applied. Dry – Normal skin try out Loreal Base Magique Transforming smoothing primer. Oily skin – try out Colorbar perfect match primer.

Foundation: The perfect flawless base is achievable for Dry-Normal skin by using Loreal Infalliable Foundation and Oily – Normal skin should try out Maybelline Perfect fit foundation for oily skin.

Concealer: To hide the dark circles or blemishes, Hands down for me goes the Loreal True Match concealer for any skin type. They have the perfect shade match for any skin tone.

Powder: Strangely after trying the Faces Cosmetics Go chic compact, I’m new converted fan of their compacts. You should clearly try out their Go chic or Ultime pro Xpert cover compact and alternatively also check out Chambor Silver Shadow compact to set your base.

Eyeshadow: Simply try out Loreal Color Riche eyeshadow in Chocolate lover shade which is versatile to go with any look. Or pick any other Color riche eyeshadow as per your liking. But suggest always start with small palette when you are starting out with makeup or not that much of a regular eyeshadow wearer.

Eyeliner: Again Loreal Gel eyeliner in various colours or the Super liner in black for your ultimate winged liner look. They are waterproof and long lasting.

Kajal: Going for black, I suggest Lakme absolute kohl ultimate kajal or the Colorbar just smoky eye pencil in black or other colours. They are highly pigmented and long lasting.

Mascara: Loreal million volume lashes mascara waterproof for events or non waterproof for everyday. Great product and I think just worth the money.

Blush: I again have from Loreal their Loreal Lucent magique blush. I just love the sheen their blushes give off.

Highlighter: A hard choice for me as I don’t love any particular one but if it has to be then it would be the Revlon Highlighting palette. Pick the shade that would match you skin tone for a natural glow. Simply to be applied on the top of the checks, bridge of your nose, Cupid’s bow, chin and forehead.

Contour: Not advised her as she didn’t want it, but for those who do I believe Maybelline and Loreal have finally come out with contouring products in India. Do check them out.

Lipstick: For long-lasting, good opacity, it simply is the Colorbar kiss proof lip stain which just don’t budge one they are set. And they don’t tug your lips.

Lip gloss: The new Loreal infallible mega gloss are just great and the one in gold is just perfect to top up on your lipstick for events.

Lip liner: She did not prefer them, but if you need one check out Rimmel or Lakme lip pencil in Brick rose which is the perfect nude shade to go with any lipstick.

Phew, and there is my little note and the things that I love. And no I’m not promoting any one brand but these are just my personal preferences.

Cheers

Namrata

4 thoughts on “A few of my favourite things”

Leave a Reply

